How To Work With Louisiana Concealed Carry Laws
Louisiana concealed carry laws require a permit in order to carry a concealed handgun, but this state provides a unique benefit for applicants: they may apply for a lifetime permit.
Of course, it costs more and there are stipulations that require proof of training every five years, but ultimately this “shall issue” state offers a bit of wiggle room in the longevity of its required documentation.
The Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit Application Process
Given that it’s a “shall issue” state, if the Louisiana concealed carry permit applicant meets the required criteria and submits all necessary documentation, generally they’ll be able to get ahold of the permit.
One of the first considerations is whether or not the applicant qualifies for the 5-year or lifetime permit. There are about 20 different criteria listed on the application (which can only be submitted if one is at least 21 years old) regarding mental health history, criminal offense history, arrest history, domestic violence history, controlled substance abuse, residency, citizenship, medical history and prior handgun permit ownership.
Only Louisiana residents may submit an application, and those who have not continuously resided in Louisiana for at least 15 years will be required to pay $50 in addition to the original permit fees.
The five-year permit original and renewal fees are $125 for ages 21-64 and $62.50 for those 65 or older. The lifetime permit fees are $500 for ages 21-64 and $250 for those 65 or older. There are discounts for active military personnel, with the five year permit fee being $62.50 and lifetime permit at $250.
The application may be submitted via mail or online, but there is required documentation that must accompany it and the non-refundable fees:
- Three separate affidavits (included with the application) that must be completed and notarized
- A copy of a Louisiana driver’s license or ID card
- If applicable, a copy of a permanent injunction or protective order
- Proof of a handgun training course taken from an approved instructor, or a copy of a DD-214 to prove competency, but renewals will require training no matter what
- Two sets of fingerprints taken by a designated law enforcement entity to be used for background checks
- Marital status, including divorce paperwork and any court orders or injunctions
- Records of arrests, specifically certified true copies of court minutes, as well as listing any expunged, dismissed, set aside or pardoned violations
- A copy of a DD-214 if having served in the Armed Forces, or if active, a copy of current orders or a military ID if allowed
- If answering yes to questions 13-19 on the application, the medical summary in the application must be completed by the treating physician
- Any information on denied, suspended or revoked permits in any jurisdiction
Be sure to notify the Concealed Handgun Permit Unit of any change of address, because failure to do so will result in a 30-day permit suspension.
Lifetime permits will require proof of recertification training every five years. Renewal applications are similar, but they notably require a new training certificate and should be submitted no less than 90 days prior to permit expiration for appropriate processing time.
If the renewal application is submitted more than 60 days after expiration, the applicant must submit an initial application instead with its appropriate documents and fees.
Five-year permits may be used in lieu of a background check through the National Instant Criminal Background Check System when purchasing a firearm, but lifetime permits may not be used to replace that background check.
Once the permit is received, understand that it doesn’t grant the right to carry a concealed handgun universally throughout the state.
Know How Louisiana Gun Laws Prohibit Firearms in Certain Locations
Although one may generally carry their handgun in their vehicle throughout the state, Louisiana gun laws restrict firearms in specific locations throughout the state.
Those restricted locations include:
- School “firearm free zones”
- Within the permitted area of an establishment that has a Class A-General retail permit to sell alcohol on the premises
- Parades or demonstrations that have permits from a governmental entity
- Churches, synagogues, mosques and other similar locations, but authorization to carry concealed may be granted by the respective organization
- Airport facilities that have restrictions as per federal law, unless encased for shipment as baggage
- The state capitol building
- “A meeting place of the governing authority of a political subdivision”
- Polling places
- Courthouses and courtrooms, but judges may carry
- Detention facilities, prisons and jails
- Law enforcement offices, stations or buildings
- Any other federally restricted location
Those locations, however, are not all inclusive and the appropriate signage and rights to carry in them or others may change with new legislation. That said, this is not formal legal advice nor an exhaustive guide to concealed carry within the state. Be sure to continue research and dive into state laws, which can all be found online.
No matter what, do not carry while under the influence of controlled substances or alcohol. In some cases, such as with a blood alcohol reading of 0.5 percent, the permit may be revoked if one is carrying and concealing a handgun.
Locations restrictions aside, the state as a whole may or may not recognize out-of-state permits.
Louisiana concealed carry reciprocity
Amended in 2004, Louisiana concealed carry reciprocity laws recognize out-of-state permits as valid only if the out-of-state issuing authority honors permits issued by Louisiana authorities.
Just shy of 40 states recognize the Louisiana permit, which means in turn Louisiana recognizes that number as well. However, when a nonresident visits Louisiana with a recognized permit, they must abide by Louisiana’s laws, and the same goes for Louisiana residents traveling out of state with their permit and weapon.
Reciprocity agreements can change. A regularly updated CCW reciprocity map will provide all current agreements across the nation.
Click On Another State To Learn About Their Concealed Carry!
About The Author
Jake Smith (@notjakesmith) is a copywriter and photographer based in the pacific northwest. He graduated from the University of Idaho with degrees in public relations and apparel.