Michigan concealed carry regulations restrict everyday carry
An application can be declined based on about 44 types of misdemeanors within the past 8 years of the application’s submission and an additional 22 types of misdemeanors within the past 3 years. There are 15 total criteria to fulfill in order to qualify for a concealed pistol license and there are several locations where firearms are prohibited in Michigan.
From October 2014 to September 2015, there were 2,449 concealed pistol license applications denied in Michigan. A declined application, however, can be avoided if the applicant knows the requirements.
How to get a Michigan concealed pistol license
The Michigan concealed pistol license (CPL), which is separate from the mandatory pistol purchase permit when buying a handgun from a private party, has an entire application kit provided online and by county clerks free of charge.
This application, which is only available for state residents, must be filed with the county clerk and the applicant will sign it under oath with the county clerk or their representative.
Take a state-certified pistol safety training course. The state-recognized instructor will provide a certificate after five hours of instruction on various topics like gun safety, laws and storage
techniques. There will also be an additional three hours of instruction at a firing range, with a required minimum of 30 rounds of ammunition fired.
If there isn’t a digitized photograph of the applicant on file with the Michigan Secretary of State, include a passport quality photo with the application. There will also be a $100 application fee.
According to the 2014-2015 annual CPL report, there was $5,362,460 in revenue from application fees across the state.
Fingerprints will be taken after the application, fees, training certificate and photograph are all submitted. These fingerprints will be processed in multiple databases, namely the National Instant Criminal Background Check System, to determine eligibility based on criminal records, mental health commitments/adjudications and other applicable criteria.
If all goes according to plan, the applicant will receive their license within 45 days. Otherwise if denied, the respective county clerk will issue a notice of statutory disqualification. The applicant may appeal this notice, however, with their circuit court of jurisdiction.
Each applicant must be 21 years old, a U.S. citizen and a legal resident of Michigan for six months prior to submitting the CPL application. The applicant must have a valid state-issued driver’s license or personal identification card.
Applicants cannot be subject to involuntary hospitalization, involuntary alternative treatment, legal incapacitation, a personal protection order, bond or conditional release prohibiting firearm purchases/possession and being found guilty by reason of insanity.
Any felony charge will disqualify the applicant. Furthermore, the applicant must be sure they’re not prohibited to possess, use, transport, purchase, carry, ship, receive or distribute a firearm under MCL 750.224f.
The CPL application kit will include lists of all the disqualifying misdemeanor violations.
A Michigan CPL is valid until the applicant’s date of birth no less than four years or no more than five years after the license is issued or renewed.
A renewal application may be submitted within six months prior to expiration and up to a year after expiration. The renewal fee is $115. If the CPL is expired, the receipt from the renewal application and the expired license together will serve as a temporary, valid CPL.
Emergency CPLs will be distributed (and the residency requirement waived) if an applicant has obtained a personal protection order under MCL 600.2950 or 600.2950a. The emergency license may also be issued if a county sheriff deems an applicant’s family or household is endangered.
There are locations in the state, however, that prohibit firearms regardless of whether or not the individual holds a CPL.
Michigan concealed carry laws have location restrictions
Michigan concealed carry laws, specifically MCL 28.425o, will dictate where individuals may carry with a CPL from Michigan or another state.
As this isn’t an exhaustive guide to concealed carry, nor is it legal advice, research all relevant statutes prior to travel with a firearm.
There are several firearms and electro-muscular disruption device-prohibited areas:
- Schools and school property, but carrying the firearm in a vehicle while dropping off or picking up children is acceptable if its the legal parent or guardian
- Public or private day care facilities, child caring agencies or child placing agencies
- Sports arenas or stadiums
- A tavern where the primary source of income is derived from liquor sold and consumed on the premises, and there are additional prohibitions on carrying with a bodily alcohol content of .02 BAC or above
- Properties and facilities owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple or other place of worship, unless an official from the religious organization allows concealed weapons on the premises
- Entertainment facilities with seating capacity over 2,500
- College and university dorms and classrooms
The pistol, if concealed, is subject to seizure in those prohibited areas. In casinos, pistols are subject to seizure if concealed or exposed.
According to prior attorney general Jennifer M. Granholm, a municipal outdoor recreation park is not a gun-free entertainment facility under the Concealed Pistol Licensing Act.
The Michigan Supreme Court ruled in 2001 that weapons are not permitted in any courtroom, office or space used for official court business or by judicial employees unless the chief judge gives prior approval.
Those restricted locations within the state are only one concern while traveling. Reciprocity agreements are another ballpark when both residents leave the state and nonresidents enter Michigan.
How Michigan concealed carry reciprocity works
Those traveling to Michigan with a permit from another state are in luck, as Michigan concealed carry reciprocity laws recognize all other states’ permits as valid in Michigan.
However, those nonresidents visiting Michigan with a firearm and permit must adhere to Michigan’s firearms laws. Similarly, those traveling with a Michigan CPL must comply with all other states’ firearms laws.
Although reciprocity agreements change with time, there are 10 states that do not recognize non resident permits, meaning the Michigan CPL is not recognized. The remaining 39 states outside Michigan either recognize Michigan’s CPL as valid or do not require carry permits in the state, but make sure to stay up to date on the specific states by regularly checking a CCW reciprocity map.
Click On Another State To Learn About Their Concealed Carry!
About The Author
Jake Smith (@notjakesmith) is a copywriter and photographer based in the pacific northwest. He graduated from the University of Idaho with degrees in public relations and apparel.